Bano

Mahek is one of the cutest girls in my class – ever smiling, eager to answer, follows class rules and actively participates in everything, though she started off as a very quiet, withdrawn girl. Today, I was giving out her name card and she said, in a very sweet but authoritative, commanding voice “Bhaiya, yeh KYA Hain?” I was almost startled and asked her smilingly “Kya haia Mahek?” “Bhaiya, yeh BANU nahin hain…BANO hain..O hain U nahin” in her name ! I immediately took a pen and corrected her name. What was striking about this story is the tone of her voice – strong yet sweet. I won’t be able to reproduce it here but I can still recall how she said it 🙂

Leave a Reply

