Close your eyes

While teaching Phonics to kids, and showing them this song, I found that many were not pronouncing it properly because their attention was always on the video and not really on the phonics sound. So, I asked them to close their eyes and say the alphabets. Still, many kids were just moving their mouth and not saying it correctly, especially the middle and back benchers. So, after they closed the eyes, I started walking around the class with the laptop and observed their lip movement and pronunciation from close. This worked very well because the kids realised that I am moving around and could sit close to them and observe. I also told them that whoever I observe to be making a sincere effort in pronouncing the alphabets will get a surprise. While their eyes were closed, I pasted stickers on their hands and they were so thrilled !

Leave a Reply

