A proud moment

Today, I walked into School a bit earlier than usual and I noticed my class kid Kajal going towards the classroom with her Grandma. Seeing me, Kajal came running with a big grin, shouting ‘Bhaiya !’. Holding her little fingers, I climbed up the stairs to reach the classroom. Since the morning shift was going on, we decided to sit in the Staff room for a while going through her file which has a stack of homework sheets and test papers.

Later, when we went into the classroom, Kajal took out a paper (ripped off her English notebook) and handed it over to me with pride and shyness painted on her gleaming face. At first, I thought it is the usual letter my kids write to drop into the Class Letter Box but on reading it, I turned ecstatic. She had written about her Picnic experience without even me asking anyone to ! Exactly 4 months ago, Kajal could not even write her name properly or any words on her own. But now, she felt motivated enough to write so many sentences on her own and nothing more could bring joy to me than this. Here is what she wrote (the numbering and brackets are her writing as well !)

1) I can go to the Picnic

2) 4 boy and 7 girl

3) 10 stars and more go to the Picnic

4) Muskan is no go to the Picnic

5) 2:30 go to the Picnic

6) 8:30 come to the School

7) I can go got he Picnic very happy

8) I like my Bhaiya very must

9) Bhaiya is nose big

10) Bhaiya is very said

15 comments

  1. Saloni

    This is very touching….I could see how beautiful her writing is…especially for someone who was unable to write at all….This is very meaningful achievement…Kajal’s Teacher surely deserves an accolade…
    🙂

  2. Pingback: 2010 in review « The stories from our Teach For India journey
  3. Some Nostalgic Moments

    It is pretty old incident now but its really touching and no doubt the work you are doing and the pain you are taking is worth dying for.so,congrats and my wishes are there for you to keep the good work going…

  4. Suhas

    Congrats for ur success…. thank you very much for creating positive vibes in the net.. so much of noise on poltics corruption it drained my patience. Reading ur blog gives a gr8 comfort… a hope to work

  5. Swati Goyal

    Hi,
    Nice work Sir.Teaching is surely one of the best ways to create a difference in someone else’s life.
    Hoping that somehow i will also contribute to this noble cause.

Leave a comment